Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Dear Comic Art Fan,

So this idea of a “Creator Con” has been the talk of the comic art community this week, with its Facebook page currently boasting over 1,600 fans after only being up for a few days. I understand the frustration artists and fans feel over the disparity between what the San Diego is now and what it once was but I’m afraid I don’t exactly see what the end goal is. It is absolutely correct to say that SDCC has been taken over by movie, television, and video game companies and there should be a convention devoted to comics and comic artists.

But the plain fact of the matter is that those conventions exist year-round all over the country. Emerald City ComiCon, HeroesCon, Baltimore Comic-Con, and many other homegrown shows serve the needs of the comic book community perfectly well. If the goal is to establish a comics-focused convention in San Diego out of nostalgia for the city, I can understand and get behind that. Otherwise, pick one of the many conventions that cater to the comics crowd and just go. And may I humbly submit that Boston is lovely in April…

See you next week!

Colin Solan
CAF Editor

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Heritage Auctions (HA.com) - Come see the Comic Art closing in this Sunday's Weekly Internet Auction #110034

A Few Sample Lots:

Pat Boyette The Phantom #40 Complete 8-page Story "The Second Phantom" Original Art (Charlton, 1970)

John Byrne Space: 1999 #4 page 22 Original Art (Charlton, 1976)

Dan Spiegle Space Ghost The Sorceress of Cyba-3 Illustration Original Art (Whitman, 1968)

Also check out the latest in the Comic Market at Heritage here...


Covers
Splashes
Splashes
Drawings
Paintings
Other
View More »

Premium Member of the Week :: Phillip K V

1. Please tell us a little about yourself.

I'm completing my Ph. D. in Biophysical Chemistry (hopefully in the next six months). I also write for Back Issue and Alter Ego magazines from TwoMorrows Publishing, and I have a trangressional fiction novel in the vein of Chuck Palahniuk, Bret Easton Ellis, and Philip Roth with a literary agent right now (fingers crossed). Maybe I'll be able to call myself a writer soon. I am also a very proud member of the CFA-APA.

I'm married to a very wonderful, hard-working, and patient wife, but that probably goes without saying based on the previous paragraph.

2. Which piece in your gallery is your favorite?

That's an easy question. The Garry Leach Miracleman pin-up that also served as the variant cover for the 2004 A1 Sketchbook. It was a gift from my wife the first Christmas we were married and she purchased it through Leach's friend (and fellow artist), Rufus Dayglo.

3. How long have you been collecting comic art and what prompted you to start?

I started collecting comic art when I graduated from college in 2004. I wanted to collect something more than just "back issues," I wanted something that was a little bit more of a challenge and something more unique. I scoured the original art section of eBay for months, trying to learn about prices, etc., but afraid to dip my toe in and try. After saving some money in graduate school, I bought my first piece, the pencil art for Tim Bradstreet's cover to Action Comics #775, one of my favorite modern day Superman stories ("What's So Funny About Truth, Justice, and the American Way?" by Joe Kelly). From there, I kept buying more pieces, staying with a relatively small budget, and the whole thing just steamrolled.

4. How do you display/store your collection at home?

I have twenty frames on a wall (thank goodness for high ceilings!) in one of our guest bedrooms that I use to display pieces,  switching out pages every couple of weeks or when I buy or trade for something new. It makes for a fun place for friends to come over and hang out or an amusing place to read, write, and relax. What isn't framed goes in Itoya portfolios.

5. What are your top five most wanted original pages or commissions?

This is a hard one. I don't typically set out to go after certain pages; I kind of let the wind toss me as I go. But if I had to choose, it would be:

1. The cover to Flash #0 by Mike Wieringo (favorite comic of all time)

2. Any art from Superman #75 (Dan Jurgens, Brett Breeding)

3. Miracleman #15 p. 6 by John Totleben

4. The cover to New Mutants #98 by Rob Liefeld

5. The cover to Web of Spider-Man #118 by Steven Butler

View Phillip K V's Gallery

View all premium members   |   Become a premium member

News of the Week
6.27.2017: ComicLink Original Art Auction Session Closes This Week With Over 800 Lots

6.27.2017: Comic Book Original Art & More in Hake's Auction #221

6.27.2017: Comic Ink King Site Updates

6.27.2017: Alex Ross Liberty and Justice: JLA now available only at Sideshow

6.27.2017: New Art For Sale at AlbertMoy.com

6.27.2017: Eddy Barrows is having a sale on Detective, Suicide Squad and Nightwing pages

6.27.2017: Announcing the Ringo Awards

6.23.2017: Michael Lark Ebay Auction to benefit Planned Parenthood

6.23.2017: New Luis Royo Artwork Available from Laberinto Gris

More News »


Top 10 Most Viewed Items @ CAF
Aliens: Salvation p.22
Posted By Dominic MilanoPaid Member

Brian Bolland
Posted By Zaddick LPaid Member

WOLVERINE #6 BACK COVER ( 1989, TODD MCFARLANE ) ONLY MASKLESS WOLVERINE COVER ART BY MCFARLANE
Posted By Original Art Auctions and Exchange: ComicLINK.comPaid Member

The Dark Knight Returns 10th Anniversary Splash-Frank Miller
Posted By Han ParkPaid Member

Bill Sienkiewicz New Mutants #18, pg 25
Posted By J LPaid Member

Cable #1 by Dale keown
Posted By COMIC PARADISEPaid Member

Marc Silvestri - Cyber Force X-Men 1 Cover Psylocke
Posted By duke fleedPaid Member

Wonder Woman by Sean Gordon Murphy
Posted By Devon Sanders

Mark Schultz Conan painting
Posted By Tom Neal

John T. Totleben - Alan Moore's Swamp Thing - Tonal Illustration
Posted By Chris Puckelwartz


Recent Shop Updates Recent Dealer Updates
Brian Peck
6/29/2017 1:41:00 AM
Kirk  Dilbeck
6/28/2017 6:23:00 PM
Original Art Auctions and Exchange:  ComicLINK.com
6/28/2017 5:33:00 PM
Erik Essington
6/28/2017 5:31:00 PM
Court Gebeau
6/28/2017 3:07:00 PM
Shelton  Bryant
6/28/2017 2:20:00 PM
» View Last 7 days  
ComicLink
8/16/2013 12:04:00 PM
Heritage Auctions
7/9/2013 7:29:00 PM
Fanfare
5/13/2013 1:46:00 PM
Comic Art Source
5/13/2013 12:04:00 PM
Comic Arts Gallery
5/12/2013 10:21:00 AM
Anthony's Comicbook Art
5/10/2013 7:39:00 PM
» View Last 60 days