Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Dear Comic Art Fan,

Metropolis Gallery hosts a very special event this weekend for fans of Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Comic Book art as world-renowned artist Greg Hildebrandt will be making a personal appearance at the Midtown Manhattan gallery, where he will be painting, chatting, signing comics, books, art, and more for his loyal fans on Saturday November 19th. There is also an opportunity to purchase a VIP package in which participants will get to speak with Greg, and watch him work on a painting to be published, from 11am-12pm, an hour before general admission ticket holders will be admitted, at which time he will continue to paint, answer questions, and sign comics. Further details are on the Facebook event page...

See you next week!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

Heritage Auctions (HA.com) - Josie, Marvel Team-Up & Hagar Original Art This Sunday

A Few Sample Lots:

Dan DeCarlo and Vincent DeCarlo - Josie Original Art Group of 12 (Archie 1966)

 Jim Mooney & Frank Giacoia - Marvel Team-Up #10 Story Page 22 Original Art (Marvel 1973)

Dik Browne - Hagar the Horrible Daily Comic Strip Original Art dated 04-30-1973 (King Features Syndicate 1973)

Also check out the latest in the Comic Market at Heritage here....


Covers
Splashes
Splashes
Neal Adams - Thor #180 Cvr Prelim
Ends: 11/20/2016 10:21:00 PM PDT
Steve Dillon - Preacher #23 p14
Ends: 11/20/2016 9:32:00 PM PDT
Alan Davis - Agents of SHIELD #3 p4
Ends: 11/20/2016 9:34:00 PM PDT
Drawings
Paintings
Other
Don Rosa - Uncle Scrooge Illus
Ends: 11/19/2016 1:12:00 PM PDT
Pat Block - Donald Duck Illus
Ends: 11/19/2016 4:06:00 PM PDT
Frank Quitely - Dark Horse Presents #93 p5
Ends: 11/19/2016 2:39:00 PM PDT
View More »

Premium Member of the Week :: jeremy hoy

1. Please tell us a little about yourself.

I'm a 39 year-old high school math teacher. I have been reading comics since the mid-1980s. I grew up on Marvel, but have given up on superhero books. I currently read Vertigo, Image, Dark Horse, and assorted indie publishers. Manhattan Projects is my favorite title, and I hope more issues are coming.  I still read about thirty titles monthly, but have cut back somewhat as I recently got married and closed on a new home (in the same week!)

I am new to the convention scene. So far, I have been to Megacon Orlando, C2E2, and Boston Comic Con (twice). I would love to go to San Diego Comic Con, my wife used to live there, but tickets have been elusive so far. I'd also like to go to New York Comic Con, but that always seems to fall right at the start of the new school year.

2. Which piece in your gallery is your favorite?

My favorite piece is the "Science Friends" Commission by Nick Pitarra. This was my first commission, and I absolutely loved how it turned out. Felix (Felix Comic Art, Nick's rep) brought the piece to C2E2 2015, and I was able to sit behind the table in artist alley as Nick drew the final characters. The piece came out so well that Felix had it turned into a print.

3. How long have you been collecting comic art and what prompted you to start?

After about a five year break from comics, I started reading again when Bedlam was released. I was hooked, and bought a couple of CGC books from eBay.  As it turns out, the seller was Felix, and I became aware of his website. I had never even thought of original art before, but became a fan immediately. Though most of the Bedlam had been picked over, I was able to purchase several Manhattan Project pages. About a year and eight pages later, I was able to get on a commission list for Nick Pitarra. All in, I would say I have been collecting for about three years.

4. How do you display/store your collection at home?

I have most of my pieces professionally framed and matted with acid free backing and UV-protected glass.  They are hanging in my "Man Cave."  My less expensive pieces (and anything I haven't gotten around to getting framed yet) are stored in a professional art portfolio..

5. What are your top five most wanted original pages or commissions?

  1. Harrow County #15 Cover - Tyler Crook's homage to Norman Rockwell
  2. Manhattan Projects #18 pages 8, 9, and 11 to finish the Westmoreland fight scene.  (I own the other pages)
  3. Any Paper Girls original published artwork. So far Cliff hasn't released any besides a couple of specialty pieces.
  4. A Nick Dragotta full 11x17 Commission featuring my favorite East of West character Archibald Chamberlain.
  5. Sandman #10 original artwork, first appearance of The Corinthian (okay, this one is a pipe dream) 

View jeremy hoy's Gallery

View all premium members   |   Become a premium member

News of the Week
3.22.2017: TDArt - New Artist Walden Wong Added and special Michael Turner Splash Sale

3.22.2017: Felix Comic Art RYAN OTTLEY art sale Tuesday March 21st, at 9AM PDT

3.22.2017: Heritage Auctions Results and Upcoming Highlights - Deadline

3.22.2017: Animation Art Update at Graphic Collectibles

3.22.2017: Comiconart New Art Update - Ed Benes, Tyler Jenkins, and More

3.20.2017: Quality Original Art at Pedigree Comics in April

3.20.2017: New Art For Sale From Roger Clark

3.15.2017: TDArt Update - Sanya Anwar at Toronto Comic Con, New and Featured Art

3.15.2017: Felix Comic Art GOD COUNTRY #3 on sale Thurs 3/16 at 9AM PDT

More News »


Top 10 Most Viewed Items @ CAF
Frankenstein plate by Wrightson
Posted By Scott WilliamsPaid Member

Jerome Opena - Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #3 Cover
Posted By C JPaid Member

Mark Brooks Monsters and Dames Emerald City Con Con 2015 Cover Geisha Girl Dragon
Posted By Tatiana DykesPaid Member

Bernie Wrightson Goodbye
Posted By Jeff SlemonsPaid Member

Spiderman #18
Posted By Thomas FISHPaid Member

"Taking No Chances" (1976) Portfolio Plate Painting by Berne Wrightson
Posted By Matt E.Paid Member

Spider man vs Green Goblin oil painting on canvas for dynamic forces lithograph 1999 & comics international magazine #115
Posted By Spider Joe

Lonely Walk, A - 1970 (Paperback Library 63-421) GGA
Posted By Paperback ArtPaid Member

Batman: Dark Victory Issue 5 page 6 -Batman and Gordon half splash
Posted By Malvin VPaid Member

John Byrne - Power Man and Iron Fist #119 Cover Art
Posted By K D


Recent Shop Updates Recent Dealer Updates
Shelton  Bryant
3/26/2017 12:54:00 PM
George Hagenauer
3/26/2017 12:26:00 PM
Scott Green
3/26/2017 11:03:00 AM
Rene Dorenbos
3/26/2017 6:08:00 AM
Milivoj Ceran
3/26/2017 4:59:00 AM
MGA-MICHAEL ALEXANDER
3/26/2017 3:57:00 AM
» View Last 7 days  
ComicLink
8/16/2013 12:04:00 PM
Heritage Auctions
7/9/2013 7:29:00 PM
Fanfare
5/13/2013 1:46:00 PM
Comic Art Source
5/13/2013 12:04:00 PM
Comic Arts Gallery
5/12/2013 10:21:00 AM
Anthony's Comicbook Art
5/10/2013 7:39:00 PM
» View Last 60 days