Thursday, June 22, 2017

Hello Comic Art Fans!
The Inkwell Awards has released the names of the winners of its 10th annual awards for excellence in the art form of comic book inking. As before, nominees were chosen by a separate and independent nomination committee; this year had more nominees than ever. Voting by professionals and fans alike took place via live ballot at the non-profit advocacy’s website. One winner was chosen in each of five categories based on American-based interior comic-book work cover-dated 2016.
Separately, the Inkwells internally selected the two recipients of the annual Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award and, this year, two recipients for the Special Recognition Award (SRA) category. Winners were contacted and many of the invited guests were present to receive their trophies during North Carolina’s Heroes Con, the host show for the Inkwells, for their seventh live ceremony. Winners and nominees are listed below, along with the percentage of votes received, where applicable.
If you're interested in Hollywood memorabilia you might want to check out Profiles new auction that starts next Monday.
A Few Sample Lots:

Premium Member of the Week :: Mike Rice
Mike Rice
Member Since: August 2003
Q: Please tell us a little about yourself.
A: I'm an art director/designer/illustrator/jack of all trades for a major metro newspaper. (Yes, there are still newspapers.) My collection focuses mainly on art from 1990-2010 with an emphasis on work by Chris Bachalo. I also have a mild obsession with J. Jonah Jameson art. (Because newspapers.)

Read Full Q&A

View all premium members   |   Become a premium member

News of the Week

6.21.2017: Scott Eder Gallery in JC, NJ tomorrow

6.20.2017: New Art Update at

6.20.2017: Profiles in History Hollywood Auction June 26-28th

6.20.2017: Announcing the 2017 Inkwell Awards Winners

6.19.2017: New Comic Art Auction Open on Catawiki

6.16.2017: Tri-State Original Art Updated

6.16.2017: IX Gallery is Live

6.15.2017: Scott Eder Gallery Relocation Celebration 6/22

More News »